AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Prime Big Deal Days · Oct 6–7Offer from Amazon

Get art and craft supplies delivered free — and shop member deals

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Washington University in St. Louis is accepting applications for fall 2027 entry to its two-year, fully residential MFA in Visual Art. The application deadline is January 10, 2027, and the school says applications are free through December 14; the source does not specify the year for that date.

Washington University in St. Louis is accepting applications for fall 2027 entry to its two-year, fully residential MFA in Visual Art, a program that welcomes work across artistic media and approaches. The application deadline is January 10, 2027, according to an announcement published by Hyperallergic; the school also says applications are free through December 14, though the announcement does not identify the year for that date.

Run by WashU’s Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts, the program is described as supporting practices ranging from historical techniques and emerging media to scholarly research and social practice. Its facilities include studios and workshops for digital fabrication, time-based media, printmaking, books, wood, metal and textiles. The school says the facilities are intended to support experimentation across disciplines.

The curriculum includes opportunities to prepare work for several exhibitions, ending with a thesis exhibition at the Kemper Art Museum. Students may also pursue work through the Office for Socially Engaged Practice and opportunities named in the announcement, including a Counterpublic triennial fellowship and Berlin Sommerakademie. WashU presents the program as preparation for different career paths in contemporary art, rather than a single professional track.

The school lists Tiffany Calvert as chair, alongside faculty including Jamie Adams, Josh Azzarella, Heather Bennett, Lisa Bulawsky, Joe deVera, Amy Hauft, Meghan Kirkwood, Arny Nadler, Patricia Olynyk, Jack Risley, Cheryl Wassenaar and Monika Weiss. The announcement also describes visiting-artist workshops, studio visits and lectures; named guests for this year include Wafaa Bilal, Chloë Bass, Carolina Caycedo and Juan William Chávez.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Applications open for fall 2027 entry;…
The developmentWashU has opened applications for fall 2027 entry to its MFA in Visual Art program, with applications due January 10, 2027.

Facilities and Opportunities for Artists

The announcement gives prospective applicants concrete details about the program’s studio access, exhibition structure and cross-disciplinary options. For artists deciding where to apply, these elements can help clarify how a graduate program supports both the making of work and its presentation, while social-practice opportunities and research resources may suit applicants whose work extends beyond traditional studio disciplines.

WashU also points to possible opportunities after graduation, including eligibility for residencies at Paris’s Cité internationale des arts, the $25,000 Stone & DeGuire Contemporary Art Award and a post-MFA studio fellowship. These are presented as alumni opportunities, not guaranteed outcomes for every student. The announcement names alumni including Kahlil Robert Irving, Lavar Munroe, Ebony G. Patterson, Carlie Trosclair and Cayce Zavaglia.

Amazon

digital fabrication studio tools

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

The Program’s Two-Year Structure

The MFA is a two-year, fully residential program at a university the announcement describes as a tier-one research institution. Its stated scope combines material experimentation with research and social practice. Students can work in dedicated facilities and engage with artists and critics invited to campus, while the exhibition sequence culminates in a thesis presentation at the Kemper Art Museum.

Hyperallergic’s item is identified as a sponsored announcement. Its information describes the school’s program and opportunities; it does not independently evaluate the quality or outcomes of the MFA. The source also does not provide admissions statistics, cohort size, tuition, funding details or a full account of selection criteria.

Amazon

printmaking supplies set

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Application Terms Still Unspecified

The source gives the main deadline as January 10, 2027, but does not state the exact fall term start date or explain application requirements, portfolio specifications, admissions decisions or enrollment capacity. It says applications are free through December 14 without giving a year, so applicants should check the program’s official admissions page to confirm that date and any conditions.

Other details that may affect applicants, including tuition, financial aid, fellowship availability and whether particular alumni opportunities have separate eligibility rules, are not provided in the announcement. The named facilities and opportunities establish what the school says is available, but the source does not say how access is allocated among students.

Amazon

textile art materials kit

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Applicants Face a January Deadline

Prospective students should consult the Sam Fox School’s official application information for portfolio instructions, required materials, current fee terms and program costs. The stated deadline for fall 2027 applications is January 10, 2027; applicants considering the advertised free-application period should verify whether December 14 refers to 2026 and confirm that the offer applies to their application.

Amazon

time-based media equipment

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Key Questions

When is the deadline to apply for fall 2027 entry?

The announcement lists January 10, 2027 as the application deadline.

Is the WashU MFA in Visual Art fully residential?

Yes. The program is described as a two-year, fully residential MFA at Washington University in St. Louis.

What kinds of artistic practices does the program support?

The announcement says the program supports work spanning historical techniques, emerging media, scholarly research and social practice.

Are applications free?

The announcement says applications are free through December 14, but does not specify the year. Applicants should confirm the date and terms with the school.

Does admission guarantee access to post-MFA awards or residencies?

No such guarantee is stated. The announcement says alumni are eligible for certain residencies and awards; it does not describe the selection process or promise that every graduate will receive them.

Source: rss

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Reading Public Museum Surges In Global Coverage

The Reading Public Museum has experienced a surge in international coverage, with 16 media mentions in recent monitoring, highlighting increased global interest.

A Tribute To Black Soho Inside A New York Art Fair

Search and coverage interest is rising around a tribute to Black Soho inside a New York art fair, but its trigger and event details are unconfirmed.

Hanoi Twin Towers 99: New Architectural Icon Unveiled

Hanoi Twin Towers 99 is set to become the city’s new landmark, with construction nearing completion. The project aims to redefine Hanoi’s skyline in the new era.

Art League Surges In Global Coverage

Art League experiences a surge in international coverage, with mentions increasing tenfold according to GDELT data, raising its global profile.