TL;DR
Get art and craft supplies delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
The University at Buffalo Department of Art is accepting applications for its two-year MFA in Studio Art, with applications due January 15, 2027. The program says all MFA students receive full-tuition scholarships and that funding includes teaching appointments and health insurance; the source does not specify award amounts or individual eligibility conditions.
The University at Buffalo Department of Art is inviting applications for its two-year MFA in Studio Art, with a deadline of January 15, 2027. The department says the program provides full-tuition scholarships to all MFA students, with funding that includes teaching appointments and health insurance, making the announcement relevant to artists weighing graduate study and its costs.
The department describes the MFA as an interdisciplinary studio program combining independent art practice with thematic labs, research, academic electives, seminars, studio visits, group critiques and exhibitions. Students work with faculty and visiting artists and curators, and develop projects through a thesis committee made up of full-time faculty. The program culminates in a public thesis exhibition.
According to the announcement, full-tuition scholarships are available to every MFA student. Funding also includes teaching appointments, which the department presents as a way to gain professional teaching experience, and health insurance. The notice does not give a stipend amount, explain whether teaching appointments are required, or detail other living expenses, so applicants may need to ask the department about the full financial package.
Students receive individual studio space and access to departmental facilities for fabrication, photography, print media and audio production. The department also lists access to Coalesce: Center for Biological Arts, an art-and-science laboratory, and its Project Space for experimental exhibitions. Questions about the program can be directed to Maximilian Goldfarb, director of graduate studies, at MG229@Buffalo.edu.
Funding and Studio Resources
The program’s stated funding terms make the announcement consequential for applicants comparing the cost of graduate art education. A full-tuition scholarship for every MFA student addresses tuition, while teaching appointments and health insurance add forms of support and professional experience. The announcement does not say how much funding students receive beyond tuition or what expenses remain their responsibility; those details matter when estimating the total cost of attendance.
The mix of individual studios, technical facilities and interdisciplinary resources also shapes what students can pursue during the degree. Access to equipment and an art-and-science lab may support work across media, while the thesis committee and public exhibition provide a structure for developing and presenting a sustained practice. These are program features described by the department, not a guarantee of any particular career outcome.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the MFA Is Structured
The University at Buffalo describes itself as an R1 research university, and says the Department of Art’s location in the Center for the Arts places it alongside programs including Media Study, Theater and Dance, as well as the UB Art Galleries’ CFA Gallery. The department frames that setting as a basis for students to engage with ideas and resources beyond a single artistic discipline.
The curriculum pairs studio work with research and critical discussion. Students develop independent practices while taking part in seminars, critiques, studio visits and exhibitions, and work with faculty on conceptual experimentation and self-directed projects. The department lists faculty advisors including Marc Böhlen, Becky Brown, Noah Breuer, Crystal Z. Campbell, Millie Chen, Maximilian Goldfarb, and others. The source announcement describes the program and its resources but does not provide admissions statistics or a detailed application checklist.
“The program offers “full-tuition scholarships for all MFA students.””
— University at Buffalo Department of Art
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Financial Terms and Admissions Details
The announcement confirms full tuition scholarships, teaching appointments and health insurance, but leaves several practical points unanswered. It does not state whether teaching appointments are guaranteed for every student, how much they pay, how long health coverage lasts, or whether fees and living costs are covered. Applicants should confirm those terms directly with the department.
The source also does not provide application requirements, admissions criteria, cohort size or a timeline for decisions. It identifies the deadline as Friday, January 15, 2027, but does not specify a time zone or submission time. No claims about acceptance rates or graduate employment outcomes are included in the announcement.
professional artist portfolio case
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Prepare for the January Deadline
Prospective applicants should plan to submit materials by January 15, 2027, and consult the University at Buffalo’s official program and admissions information for application instructions. Because the announcement does not list required materials or funding conditions, candidates can contact Maximilian Goldfarb, director of graduate studies, at MG229@Buffalo.edu to clarify both.
The department has not announced a subsequent admissions milestone in the source material. The next confirmed date is the application deadline; details about review, interviews, decisions and enrollment timing remain unreported.
art and science laboratory equipment
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
When is the University at Buffalo MFA application deadline?
The announced deadline for the MFA in Studio Art is Friday, January 15, 2027. The notice does not state a submission time or time zone.
What does fully funded mean for this program?
The department says all MFA students receive full-tuition scholarships. It also says funding includes teaching appointments and health insurance, but does not specify stipend amounts, appointment conditions, fees or living-cost support.
How long is the MFA in Studio Art?
The University at Buffalo describes it as a two-year program.
What facilities can MFA students use?
The department lists individual studios, fabrication tools, photography facilities, print media studios and audio equipment. Students also have access to Coalesce: Center for Biological Arts and the Project Space.
Who can answer questions about the program?
Questions can be sent to Maximilian Goldfarb, director of graduate studies, at MG229@Buffalo.edu.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
